What are the two main branches of buddhism?

The two main Buddhist traditions are: Mahayana Buddhism, largely practiced in East Asia, and Theravada Buddhism, largely practiced in Southeast Asia. There are other traditions as well, such as tantric, Vajrayana, and Tibetan Buddhism.