Why do lizards move up and down?

A lizard doing pushups. Lizards work out for the same reason a guy at the gym might: as a display of strength. And with lizards, as can be the case with men, the push-ups also mean "get out of my territory." And a new study finds some lizards make a morning and evening routine out of the displays.