Do rats have good hearing?

Rats are adapted to hear very well, and they use the sense to communicate at ranges humans cannot detect. Because their hearing is so sensitive, they are more attuned to noises in their environment that a human ear couldn’t even pick up, such as the sound of a thumb and forefinger rubbing together