What was martin luther king junior's doctorate in?

In September of 1951, Martin Luther King Jr. began doctoral studies in Systematic Theology at Boston University. He also studied at Harvard University. His dissertation was completed in 1955, and the Ph.D. degree was awarded on June 5, 1955.