What are stakes?

1 : a pointed piece of wood or other material driven or to be driven into the ground as a marker or support. Or 2 a : a post to which a person is bound for execution by burning. Or b : execution by burning at a stake. 3a : something that is staked for gain or loss. b : the prize in a contest.