Who is modern english?

Modern English are a new wave/post-punk band from England. They formed in 1979, and are best known for their songs "I Melt with You", "Hands Across the Sea", and "Ink and Paper". The group disbanded in 1987, only to reform two years later and then disband after another two years (1991).