What does it mean to be to death?

It's basically over exaggeration of doing something that's harmless but being done so much it's sarcastically to death. Like constantly playing a song over and over (we played that song to death, like I waxed that car to death or I used that saying to death.) It's just a sarcastic over exaggeration