Why do people stretch in the morning?

Stretching in the morning dramatically improves blood circulation. A quick stretch upon waking can energize you to get out of bed. The heart rate is slowest just before rising, so when you stretch, your blood starts moving faster and circulating to the muscles in the extremities.