What is the difference between pastas?

There are a few different types of pasta. The big difference would be what it is made of. There are egg noodle pastas, brown rice pasta, and chick pea pastas for example. The only difference between egg noodles pastas is simply the shape. Such as spaghetti is long and thin, while penned is hallow.