When was the first colored photographs taken?

The first color photograph made by the three-color method suggested by James Clerk Maxwell in 1855, was taken in 1861 by Thomas Sutton. The subject is a colored ribbon, usually described as a tartan ribbon.

---

The first color photograph made according to Maxwell's prescription, a set of three monochrome "color separations", was taken by Thomas Sutton in 1861 for use in illustrating a lecture on color by Maxwell, where it was shown in color by the triple projection method.