What's the cosmic crisp apple?

The cosmic crisp is a new variety of apple developed in Washington State. It got it's name from the spots on the skin which look like stars. It will debut in grocery stores around the United States in December in limited quantities.

---

Cosmic Crisp apples, are a cross between Honeycrisp and Enterprise apple varieties. The name "Cosmic" references the apple's starburst-like lenticels, while "Crisp" links it to its parent, the Honeycrisp.