What is the most common type of rock found on the earth crust?

Sedimentary rocks, such as sandstone, limestone, and shale, are the most common rocks exposed on Earth's surface but are only a minor constituent of the entire crust, which is dominated by igneous and metamorphic rocks. Granite is the most common igneous rock.