Why did the portuguese colonial war happen?

The Portuguese Colonial War (aka, Overseas War in Portugal and War of Liberation in former colonies) was fought between Portugal and emerging nationalist movements in its African Colonies between 1961 & 1974. Portugal's failure to leave fomented mostly communist-led Armed Independence movements.