When was james garfield assassinated?

James A. Garfield, the 20th president of the United States, was fatally shot at the Baltimore and Potomac Railroad Station in Washington, D.C., at 9:30 am on Saturday, July 2, 1881. He died in Elberon, New Jersey, 79 days later on September 19, 1881