How does halo form?

A halo is any of a wide range of atmospheric optical phenomena that forms when the Sun or Moon shines through thin clouds composed of ice crystals. It may be due to the refraction of light passing through the crystals, or the reflection of light from crystal faces, or a combination of both effects.