Why do dogs attack vacuum cleaners?

The main reason dogs frequently attack or run away from vacuum cleaners is because of the noise emitted by the vacuum cleaner. Dogs are sensitive to higher frequency sound waves than humans and most vacuums make a lot of high pitched noises which either just annoys or actually hurts dog eardrums.