What's the difference between condensed milk and milk?

Condensed milk is evaporated milk's sweeter cousin. Regular milk is cooked down to remove water—but lots of sugar is added, too. The end result is super thick and sweet. You'll find condensed milk on the ingredients list of many dessert recipes, including fudge, layered bars and frozen pies