Why was john lennon shot?

John Lennon was shot by Mark David Chapman. Chapman was angry about Lennon's highly publicized 1966 comment that the Beatles were "more popular than Jesus".

---

John Lennon was shot by Mark David Chapman, who said man who told a parole board that he “has a sociopathic mind” and killed the Beatle because he wanted to be famous.