Why do they call hush puppies hush puppies?

The name is often attributed to hunters who would fry a basic cornmeal mixture and feed it to their dogs to "hush the puppies" during fish-fries. Other legends date the term to the Civil War, in which Confederate soldiers are said to have tossed fried cornbread to quell the barks of their dogs.

---

There are many theories on how hush puppies got their name. One popular such theory is that during The Civil War, southern soldiers heard union army soldiers approaching their campfire and threw bits of fried corn cakes to their dogs to keep them quiet, or hush puppies.