Why do they call hush puppies hush puppies?

The name is often attributed to hunters who would fry a basic cornmeal mixture and feed it to their dogs to "hush the puppies" during fish-fries. Other legends date the term to the Civil War, in which Confederate soldiers are said to have tossed fried cornbread to quell the barks of their dogs.