What is the mccarthy era?

McCarthy Era is when Senator Joseph McCarthy abused his power to frame his adversaries as communists in a legal setting to have them blacklisted in their industries. It had its origins in the period in the United States known as the Second Red Scare, lasting from the late 1940s through the 1950s.