What's the closest mars comes to earth?

In theory, based on the actual position of both Earth and Mars on their respective orbits around Sun, the closest the Earth and Mars could approach each other would be when Mars is at its closest point to Sun while Earth will be at its farthest, putting both 54.6 million kms (33.9 million mi) apart.