How many states are there in the union?

There are a total of 50 states in the Union of the United States. 48 of the states are contiguous while Hawaii and Alaska are separated from the mainland of the US. As of this date April 2021 consideration is being made to possibly make Washington DC as it's own State.

---

There are 50 states in the union of the United States. The U S also has five territories (plus Washington D C) with people in them, and nine small islands with no permanent inhabitants. Perhaps surprisingly, Washington D C is considered a territory and not a state, or part of a state.