What's the difference between uncured bacon and regular bacon?

Cured bacon utilizes nitrates and nitrites, such as sodium nitrate and sodium nitrite. These chemical compounds and food preservatives help cure the meat as well as help it maintain its pink color. Uncured bacon doesn't contain added nitrates or nitrites.