Who is chief ore?

Ferruginous rock containing one or more minerals from which metallic iron may be profitably extracted. The chief ores of iron consist mainly of the oxides: hematite, Fe2O3 ; goethite, alpha -FeO(OH); magnetite, Fe3O4; and the carbonate, siderite FeCO3.