Who is orpheus in mythology?

In some versions of Greek myth, Orpheus was the son of Apollo and Calliope. He had superhuman musical abilities in playing the lyre or kithara, and travelled with Jason and the Argonauts to find the Golden Fleece. He also travelled to the Underworld to find his wife Eurydice.