How did they discover popcorn?

In 1948 a couple of cave explorers found dried and popped kernels in a cave. They say the kernels date back over 5000 years!

---

No one knows who came up with cooking corn kernels until they "pop". Popcorn has been around for a long time. Fossil evidence from Peru suggests that corn was popped as early as 4700 BC. The phrase popped corn was first used around 1848.