How long does it take to cook polenta?

20 to 30 minutes. Warm the water or milk and one pat butter to not quite boiling, add the polenta (I like milk and a 1 polenta to 3 milk ratio) and then just keep stirring. Stir every minute or two in the first 10-15 minutes, steadily near the end. It's done when the spoon stands up in it.