What is the fifth gender?

There are only two biological genders: male, and female. There are, however, a considerable number of gender identities. Which one is fifth, depends on how many you define, and what order you choose to list them in.

---

The fifth Bugis gender is bissu, which is considered neither male nor female but representative of the totality of the gender spectrum. Bissu, like calabai and calalai, display their identity through dress.