What is the root word pend mean?

-pend- comes from Latin pendēre to hang; related to Latin pendere to suspend, where it has the meaning "hang; be suspended or weighed.'' This meaning is found in such words as: append, appendage, appendix, compendium, expend, impending, independent, pendant, pendulous, pendulum, stipend, suspend