What were the c. b. s. in the second world war?

Seabee is a heterograph of the initial letters "CB" from the words "Construction Battalion" from United States Naval Construction Battalions. During World War II they were plank-holders of both the Naval Combat Demolition Units and the Underwater Demolition Teams.