How many fluid ounces in an ounce?

"fluid ounce" and "ounce" measure different things -- volume and weight. In the most simplistic terms, 1 fluid ounce weighs about 1 (avoirdupois) ounce -- for liquid water in a range fairly close to refrigerator temperature. But 1 ounce of mercury is only 0.07 fl oz.