How did we get the names for the days of the week?

Weekday name roots are: Sunday from Sunnendag meaning Sun's Day. Monday from Monandag meaning Moon's Day. Tuesday from Tiwesdag after a god. Wednesday from Wodensdag after Odin. Thursday from Thunresdag after Thor, Friday from Frigasdag after Friya, and Saturday after the Roman god Saturn.