How to secret santa work?

All of the participants' names are placed in a hat. Each person picks a name and then buys a gift for their assigned person. When the gift-giving time arrives, each recipient finds their gift and must guess who their Secret Santa is. If they can't guess, their Secret Santa eventually confesses.