Is there a number three pencil?

Yes. The number refers to the hardness of the graphite rod in the center, higher being harder. Separate leads are available for mechanical pencils and the higher number are generally seen there, but you could probably buy #3 wooden pencils in a store that carries drawing and rafting supplies.