Was there a plague in the eighteen hundreds?

YES. Several. 1812–1819, Ottoman plague epidemic killed 300,000 people. 1829–1851, 2nd cholera pandemic killed 100,000. 1846–1860 3rd cholera pandemic killed over 1 million people in russia. 1855–1860 Bubonic plague in China and India killed 12 million people.