Why do dreams occur?

Dreams help process recent cognitive input to facilitate sorting recent information into categories and short or medium memory. Some experts believe that dreams, especially recurrent dreams, sometimes have important symbolic meaning (Freud) or may very messages from your self conscious (Carl Jung).