What's the difference between processed sugar and natural sugar?

Natural sugar is naturally occurring in foods as in fruit or dairy or carbohydrates. Refined sugar may be from a natural source, but it has been processed so only sugar remains, like granulated sugar from sugar cane, or corn syrup from corn.