Is a banana actually a berry?

Strawberries are not really berries, but watermelon, pumpkins, bananas, and avocados are. The official definition of a berry is "a fleshy fruit produced from a single ovary." By this definition, oranges, kumquats, blueberries, and even tomatoes can be considered part of the berry family.