Is young kippur a happy holiday?

No, it is a solemn holiday. Yom Kippur begins sundown Tuesday and runs through Wednesday evening. The Day of Atonement, the holiest day on the Jewish calendar, is a time set aside to repent for sins and to reflect on the year past and the year to come.