What's the personality of a tortoiseshell cat?

Like every other cat. That is to say, it is unpredictable and will behave any way it wants irrespective of any positive outside influences. It will just as soon rip one's face off as lovingly lean into them. As in boxing, with any cat, one must protect themselves at all times.