When was the lanta georgia founded?

Originally named Terminus and then Thrasherville, and later Marthasville.... J. Edgar Thomson, Chief Engineer of the Georgia Railroad, suggested the town be renamed Atlanta. The residents approved, and the town was incorporated as Atlanta on December 29, 1847. It is the current capital of Georgia.