How old was michael jordan when he retired basketball?

40. The “Michael Jordan Biography” on ESPN’s site states Michael Jordan retired from the NBA three times. His 1st retirement came in 1993 after his father was murdered. His 2nd retirement was in 1998 at the end of his contract. His last was in 2003 after playing with the Washington Wizards.