What are the requirements to be an astronaut?

Be a U.S. citizen Possess a master's degree* in a STEM field Have at least two years of related professional experience obtained after degree completion or at least 1,000 hours pilot-in-command time on jet aircraft. Be able to pass the NASA long-duration flight astronaut physical.