Why is it octopus day?

On October 8th, World Octopus Day celebrates one of the earth's oldest creatures. Octopus fossils date back over 300 million years. This is just one of the reasons to celebrate World Octopus Day. The other reason is that octopus are fascinating creatures that people should learn more about.