What's the difference between plain yogurt and greek yogurt?

Regular yogurt is made by heating milk, adding bacteria and leaving it to ferment until it reaches an acidic pH of about 4.5. After it cools other ingredients may be added. Greek yogurt, a concentrated or strained yogurt is made by eliminating the whey and other liquids from regular yogurt.