Are the thompson twins really twins?

There are neither Thompsons nor twins in the band; they took their name from a pair of characters in a French comic strip, Hergé's Adventures of Tintin.

---

Although the name of the group is a misspelled allusion to the Thomson brothers in the French cartoon TinTin, the members of Thompson Twins were never siblings, much less twins. At its largest the group was a septet; at its smallest a duo.