Is the ugly duckling a fairy tale?

The Ugly Duckling" is a literary fairy tale by Danish poet and author Hans Christian Andersen. The story tells of a little bird born in a barnyard who suffers abuse from the others around him until, much to his delight, he matures into a beautiful swan, the most beautiful bird of all.