What does it mean that space is a vacuum?

We say that space is a vacuum because a vacuum is an empty place, which space nearly achieves. But outer space is not a perfect vacuum, despite having very low density and pressure. Even in interstellar space, there are still a few hydrogen atoms in every cubic meter.