Is an a. r. fifteen an automatic weapon?

A civilian purchased AR-15 is not fully automatic unless purchased with an automatic firing sear, or converted with one. This would turn the weapon into a “machine gun” by law and is illegal if the individual is not a machine gun manufacturer.