What's the technical term for goosebumps?

Goosebumps occur due to piloerection. When the temperature is too low, tiny muscles attached to hair follicles, called arrector pilii, cause hairs to stand on end. This doesn't help humans much because we don't have enough body hair, but the same reaction in animals can help keep them warm.

---

The medical terms for goosebumps are piloerection, cutis anserina, and horripilation.